Gatereach and the other ways to reach your own Mac
As of 8 October 2026
There are good tools for reaching a Mac from somewhere else. Here is how they compare with what we are building, and when one of them may suit you better.
Gatereach is in development and not yet available. What you read here describes how we are designing it; details may change before release. Pricing has not been announced.
The short version
If both Mac computers sit on the same fast network, Apple’s own Screen Sharing is free and built in. If you need Windows or Linux too, a cross-platform tool such as Jump Desktop, Screens or RealVNC Connect is the better fit. Gatereach is being designed for one thing: reaching your own Mac from your iPhone, iPad or another Mac, from anywhere.
| Product | From iPhone to Mac | On your Mac | Away from home | Protection when connecting, as stated | Personal price, as listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| GatereachPlanned | Planned: from iPhone, iPad or another Mac | One Gatereach app, nothing else (design) | Planned: pair once at home, then reach it from anywhere; no VPN, no port forwarding (design) | Face ID on every remote connection (design) | Not announced |
| Apple Screen Sharing | Not documented by Apple; its guides cover Mac to MacS2S3 | Built into macOS, turned on in System SettingsS2 | Apple’s guides describe computers on your network; no Apple relay documentedS1S2S3 | Mac user login; per-connection confirmation not stated by vendorS2 | Free, part of macOSS2 |
| Jump Desktop | YesS5S7 | Jump Desktop Connect, a free host appS5S6 | Yes; the vendor’s servers and relays forward the connectionS5 | Touch ID protects saved server settings in the iOS app; 2FA enforcement listed for TeamsS5S7 | iPhone and iPad app EUR 17.99, Mac app EUR 39.99, one-time purchase (App Store Austria, incl. VAT); host app freeS6S7 |
| Screens 5 | YesS10S12 | macOS Screen Sharing; for outside access, Screens Connect (built into Screens for Mac on macOS 14.6 and later)S12 | Yes, through Screens Connect, or through Tailscale or MeshnetS10S12 | Face ID, Touch ID, Apple Watch or password lock for the appS12 | EUR 3.99 per month, EUR 34.99 per year or EUR 229.99 lifetime (App Store Austria, incl. VAT); 7-day free trialS10S11S12 |
| Parsec | No iOS app listed on the vendor’s downloads pageS14 | Parsec app for hosting (macOS 10.15 and later)S14 | Yes, peer-to-peer; the vendor says traffic never transits its infrastructureS15 | Account 2FA availableS15 | Free for personal, non-commercial use. Warp USD 9.99 per month, or USD 8.33 per month billed yearly (USD, as listed on the vendor website; tax basis not stated)S13 |
| Splashtop | YesS19 | Splashtop Streamer, freeS19 | Personal: home network only; outside needs the paid Anywhere Access Pack. Solo and up: access from any deviceS16S17 | 2FA and device authenticationS18 | Personal free on your home network, non-commercial. Anywhere Access Pack EUR 6.99 per month or EUR 24.99 per year (App Store Austria, incl. VAT)S16S19 |
| RealVNC Connect | YesS22 | RealVNC ConnectS22 | Yes, through RealVNC’s cloud service; direct connections on the local network tooS20S22 | Account 2FA on all plans; session MFA on PremiumS20S21 | Lite free (non-commercial, 3 devices). Essentials EUR 99 per year, billed annually (vendor website; tax basis not stated)S20S21 |
| Chrome Remote Desktop | Through the web browser; no native iOS app on the App Store as of 8 October 2026S23S26 | Chrome Remote Desktop host, plus macOS permissionsS24 | YesS24 | PIN per computer; Google sign-inS23S25 | No price shown on the vendor pages readS23S24S25 |
| Tailscale with a VNC app | Yes, with a VNC viewer such as Screens or RealVNC ViewerS10S22 | Tailscale app plus macOS Screen SharingS2S28 | Yes; Tailscale works across NAT “without requiring port forwarding” (Tailscale)S28 | Depends on the VNC app; Tailscale sign-in through an identity providerS27 | Tailscale Personal free (non-commercial, up to 6 users), plus the VNC app’s own priceS27 |
| Astropad Workbench | YesS29 | Workbench Mac app (macOS 15 and later)S29 | Yes; relay network in 11 regions, no port forwardingS29 | Not stated by vendor | USD 14.99 per month or USD 79.99 per year (USD, as listed; tax basis and EUR price not stated); a free daily allowance, stated differently on the vendor’s website and App Store listingS29 |
“Not stated by vendor” means the vendor’s pages we read did not say. EUR prices from the Austrian App Store include VAT; vendor website prices are shown with the tax basis the vendor gives.
Also: Duet Air, the remote-desktop subscription inside Duet Display, EUR 5.99 per month or EUR 59.99 per year (App Store Austria, incl. VAT); Duet states “256-bit end-to-end encryption”.S30
What others do well
- Apple Screen Sharing High Performance mode between two Mac computers with Apple silicon: stereo audio, HDR, 4:4:4 colour, 30 or 60 fps and a virtual display up to 4K.S1S4
- Jump Desktop Also speaks RDP and VNC, allows several connections at once, and reaches Windows, Mac and Linux.S5S7
- Screens 5 Multi-display, Curtain Mode, SSH keys, file transfer and a client for Apple Vision Pro; reaches Mac, Windows, Linux and Raspberry Pi.S10S12
- Parsec Warp adds up to three monitors, 4:4:4 colour, privacy mode and Wacom support.S13
- Splashtop The Performance plan offers 4:4:4, 240 fps, stylus and USB passthrough; the vendor states ISO 27001 and SOC 2.S17S18
- RealVNC Connect Raspberry Pi support, and multi-monitor, audio, file transfer and a virtual display driver depending on the plan.S20S21
- Chrome Remote Desktop Works in a web browser and is built on WebRTC.S25
- Tailscale A private network for all your devices, not only for screen access.S27S28
- Astropad Workbench Mac-focused; merges several monitors into one display, with Apple Pencil and voice input; marketed for headless and always-on Mac computers.S29
What Gatereach is designed for
- Your own Mac. Designed to reach your own Mac from your iPhone, iPad or another Mac.
- One app on each device. Planned with no VPN to set up and no port forwarding.
- Pair once at home. Planned to work from anywhere after that.
- Face ID, every time. Designed so every remote connection is confirmed with Face ID.
- Visible on your Mac. Designed to show on your Mac whenever a session is live.
- Private. Designed to be end-to-end encrypted, so we can’t see your screen.
When something else is the better choice
Choose another tool if you need Windows or Linux, want to help someone else with their computer, need multiple monitors or file transfer today, or want something you can install right now. Gatereach is not released yet.
Gatereach compared with TeamViewer, AnyDesk and Windows App
Information about other products as of 8 October 2026, from each vendor’s own website and App Store listing. Prices and features change; please check the vendor’s site.
Prices are shown in EUR as displayed to visitors in Europe (Austria) on 8 October 2026, with the VAT basis stated in each row. Where a vendor lists a price in USD only, it is given in USD, as listed, and marked so.
Spotted something out of date? Write to office@sharobella.com and we will correct it.
Sources
- S1 Apple, Mac User Guide: screen sharing type options (High Performance). https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/mchl1883115d/mac, read 8 October 2026.
- S2 Apple, Mac User Guide: turn Mac screen sharing on or off. https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/mh11848/mac, read 8 October 2026.
- S3 Apple, Mac User Guide: share the screen of another Mac. https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/mh14066/mac, read 8 October 2026.
- S4 Apple, Remote Desktop User Guide: use High Performance screen sharing. https://support.apple.com/guide/remote-desktop/apdf8e09f5a9/mac, read 8 October 2026.
- S5 Jump Desktop, home page. https://jumpdesktop.com/, read 8 October 2026.
- S6 Jump Desktop, pricing. https://jumpdesktop.com/pricing-plans.html, read 8 October 2026.
- S7 App Store, Jump Desktop for iPhone and iPad (US, AT). https://apps.apple.com/at/app/id364876095; Mac app: https://apps.apple.com/at/app/id524141863, read 8 October 2026.
- S10 Edovia, Screens for Mac. https://edovia.com/en/screens-mac/, read 8 October 2026.
- S11 Edovia help, Screens 5 pricing. https://help.edovia.com/en/screens-5/faq/s5-pricing, read 8 October 2026.
- S12 App Store, Screens 5 (US, AT). https://apps.apple.com/at/app/id1663047912, read 8 October 2026.
- S13 Parsec, pricing. https://parsec.app/pricing, read 8 October 2026.
- S14 Parsec, downloads. https://parsec.app/downloads, read 8 October 2026.
- S15 Parsec, security. https://parsec.app/security, read 8 October 2026.
- S16 Splashtop, Personal. https://www.splashtop.com/personal, read 8 October 2026.
- S17 Splashtop, pricing. https://www.splashtop.com/pricing; and https://www.splashtop.com/pricing/remote-access, read 8 October 2026.
- S18 Splashtop, security. https://www.splashtop.com/security, read 8 October 2026.
- S19 App Store, Splashtop Remote Desktop (US, AT). https://apps.apple.com/at/app/id561386772, read 8 October 2026.
- S20 RealVNC Connect, pricing (EUR shown from Austria). https://www.realvnc.com/en/connect/pricing/, read 8 October 2026.
- S21 RealVNC Connect, Lite plan. https://www.realvnc.com/en/connect/plan/lite/, read 8 October 2026.
- S22 App Store, RealVNC Viewer. https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id352019548, read 8 October 2026.
- S23 Google, Chrome Remote Desktop help (iOS). https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/1649523?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DiOS, read 8 October 2026.
- S24 Google, Chrome Remote Desktop help (desktop). https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/1649523?hl=en&co=GENIE.Platform%3DDesktop, read 8 October 2026.
- S25 Chrome Remote Desktop, home. https://remotedesktop.google.com/, read 8 October 2026.
- S26 App Store, former Chrome Remote Desktop listing (returns HTTP 404; iTunes lookup returns no result in US and AT). https://apps.apple.com/us/app/chrome-remote-desktop/id944025852, read 8 October 2026.
- S27 Tailscale, pricing. https://tailscale.com/pricing, read 8 October 2026.
- S28 Tailscale, What is Tailscale. https://tailscale.com/kb/1151/what-is-tailscale, read 8 October 2026.
- S29 Astropad, Workbench, and its App Store listing. https://astropad.com/product/workbench/; App Store: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6758788573, read 8 October 2026.
- S30 Duet, home page, and the Duet Display App Store listing (US, AT). https://www.duetdisplay.com/; App Store: https://apps.apple.com/at/app/id935754064, read 8 October 2026.
Trademarks
Apple, Mac, macOS, iPhone, iPad, Face ID, App Store and Apple Vision Pro are trademarks of Apple Inc., registered in the U.S. and other countries. Windows is a trademark of the Microsoft group of companies. Google and Chrome are trademarks of Google LLC. RealVNC and VNC are trademarks of RealVNC Limited. TeamViewer, AnyDesk, Jump Desktop, Screens, Parsec, Splashtop, Tailscale, Astropad and Duet are trademarks of their respective owners. Gatereach is not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by any of these companies.